Saltar apartados
  • UA


The Venue Ciudad de Alicante will have next 17th of March at 20.15 the concert "Música transcrita: de Scarlatti a Piazzola" (Transcribed music: from Scarlatti to Piazzola), by the Cuarteto de Saxofones. This concert is included in the series Música para la Semana Santa, Música para la Paz (Music for Easter, Music for Peace). The entrance to the concert is free and limited to the capacity of the room.

It is usual to think that a musical piece should be interpreted only with the instrument for which it was composed, and even some people think that to play adapted music is nearly a sacrilege. However, history shows that the compositors themselves are the responsible ones for the arrangements of their own compositions. Thus, Mozart adapted his oboe concerto for a flute; Beethoven himself adapted his violin concerto turning it into a piano concerto; Schoenberg adapted Brahms; Liszt adapted Wagner; Stravinsky adapted Pergolesi; Bach adapted Vivaldi, Mahler adapted Schumann. The transcription gives a new life to the composition by adding it the nuances of the new instrument and, moreover, it can serve as a mean for a greater spreading of the composer's music.

Regarding the performers, the group is composed by classical saxophonists who develop their professional life in different spheres. They have been in several chamber associations and they act usually as solo players in conferences or classes made in different places of the Spanish territory. They have also collaborated with some important orchestras as that of the RTVE, Orchestra of the Community of Madrid, Philarmonia de España, and they have been rewarded in different contests as the Benidorm International Music Contest or the International Music Tournament, celebrated in Italy.


Tomás Jerez, soprano saxophone
Nacho Solana, alto saxophone
Alejandro Juárez, tenor saxophone
Pablo León, baritone saxophone


Three Pieces (K.427, K.474, K.519) D. Scarlatti (1685-1757)
Cuartet nº 5, op. 20 (Moderato-Adagio) J. Haydn (1732-1809)
Three lyric pieces (arr: A.Juárez) E. Grieg (1843-1907)
Vers la patrie
Près du berceau
Petit Troll
Petite Suite C. Debussy (1862-1918)
En bateau
Meditango A. Piazzolla (1921-1992)

VEU - Cultural Magazine of the University of Alicante

Revista Cultural VEU
Secretariado de Promoción Cultural y Lingüística
Universidad de Alicante
Carretera San Vicente s/n
03690 San Vicente del Raspeig
Alicante (Spain)

Tel: (+34) 96 590 9593

Fax: (+34) 96 590 3464



For further information:, and for enquiries on this web server:

Carretera San Vicente del Raspeig s/n - 03690 San Vicente del Raspeig - Alicante - Tel. 96 590 3400 - Fax 96 590 3464