Saltar apartados



A review by Anabel Juan Berenguer

Arcadio Blasco's work appears before setting foot in the exhibition hall. Adding a new element to the set, one of his Ruedas de molino (Millstones) is integrated into the scene of the University of Alicante Museum (MUA). This is one of the highlights of Blasco: its efforts to place his work in public spaces so that it can become part of the citizens’ lives. "Stories of lines and clay" is a sample of twenty pieces which make ​​a brief tour of the artist's life. They are brushstrokes of his most important experiences which are an inspiration for the creation of his paintings and sculptures. They tell us a little of his story, a little bit of our own.

His work begins with Maquetas (Mockups), six ceramic fragments of its formative stage in Rome which anticipate his great future as a sculptor artist. From the same period, Coliseo (Colosseum) shows a synthesis between classical ceramics and modern in bright and repetitive colours. Suddenly we find Sillas (Chairs) o La Cova (The Cave), two works of abstract being. The latter, large in size, transmits the expressiveness of the author.

Square and rectangular ceramic fragments, placed at different levels, are tinted by black and white streaks of paint. Then comes a time when Blasco comes closer to reality and to the discovery of matter, so that he moves away from paint. Propuesta ornamental (Ornamental Proposal), Muros y fronteras (Walls and Borders) and Arquitectura para protegerse del miedo (Architecture for Protection from Fear) are works of his mature phase, when he returns to its origins of Alicante. He is then located in a new democratic context, allowing for more reflective works and in which lay his personality.Pieces with a great wealth of textures and shapes in natural tones and ash and sienna colours which reflect his own technique. In all black, we find Restos de la casa de mi amada que el fuego destruyó (Remains of the house of my beloved which were destroyed by fire), a sculpture of the walls of a house burnt by fire and completely forgotten. A work which shows the stage of new architectures of the author. The exhibition ends with the paintings Arados (Ploughed Fields) and Gárgolas (Gargoyles), from the series Apriscos (Ploughs), and which are his most recent artworks.

All twenty pieces are a summary of Arcadio Blasco’s work in which touches of his career are shown, although not all stages are present. Behind every work, there is a story of the author and his times. They tell us by its ally materials – ceramics and lines – of his paintings. Works full of metaphors in which the observer goes all over trying to understand what is behind each one.

VEU - Cultural Magazine of the University of Alicante

Revista Cultural VEU
Secretariado de Promoción Cultural y Lingüística
Universidad de Alicante
Carretera San Vicente s/n
03690 San Vicente del Raspeig
Alicante (Spain)

Tel: (+34) 96 590 9593

Fax: (+34) 96 590 3464



For further information:, and for enquiries on this web server:

Carretera San Vicente del Raspeig s/n - 03690 San Vicente del Raspeig - Alicante - Tel. 96 590 3400 - Fax 96 590 3464